Chicken: it’s what’s for dinner.

Poof and I have this tendency to go out on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. It’s our default. I’ll put on nice shoes. We’ll take photos for her blog. We usually head to our favorite local coffee shop, MADCAP COFFEE

…because it’s local, it’s delicious, and they do that thing where they make my Mocha look like a heart, and it’s nice to feel loved.

Same heart, same drink, same place. #Tuesday #MadCap #grandrapids

A post shared by Laura Anne (@la_thegirl) on

Well, since this is the rule, here is the exception:

L.A.: Coffee?

Poof: Not in the mood.

L.A.: Mall?

Poof: Sure. I want a root beer float.

L.A.: …

L.A: …

L.A.: …pregnant?

Poof had this thing when she was pregnant with LittlePoof where she always craved root beer floats. It was her food. My weakness when I was pregnant?

The good kind, not like the awkwardly shaped nuggets.

Cue to eating lunch yesterday.

Me: I’ll have the chicken tenders basket, please.

Mom: Didn’t you just get chicken tenders the other day?

Me: Yes.

Mom: And you want it again?

Me: I like chicken.

Boo: I like chicken too!

Mom: *Forceful Gaze*

Me: I’m not.

Mom: *Cynical Squinting*

Me: No, but really.

Mom: *James Marsden’s Character in X-Men*

Me: BUT FOR SERIOUS.

Mom: *Jedi Mind Trick*

Me: I HAVE ONE ALREADY.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you “Why I have added giving up Chicken Fingers to my lenten promise.”

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on April 12, 2014, in Fix My Lighthouse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i feel like my pregnancy-food would be cheeseburgers and chocolate milkshakes but mainly because that is my every day food and i can’t imagine ever wanting anything else. and rootbeer floats are magical. also, that picture of the chicken fingers looks delicious. like, i can practically taste the honey mustard and now i think i need to go out to lunch today to get some.

    • The funny thing is that while I like chicken, it was like TRUE LOVE for chicken when I was pregnant. Like nothing else would do. I basically married chicken fingers. I named my child after chicken fingers. The cravings were that ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

