for the pain and the pleasure

This guy I knew once, way back when, offered to pay for my first tattoo. Every once in awhile, I debate texting him, seeing if his number is still the same, and asking if he’ll still pay for that tattoo.

He had lots of tattoos. I somehow have a photo of one.

He had lots of tattoos. I somehow have a photo of one, because I have photos of everything.

I’m not exactly subtle about how terrible I am with pain. Once, I put my hand through a window and had to get five stitches. The nurse laughed at me because he had to use three times the normal amount of anesthetic to stop the pain. And I totally lied to him when he asked if I could still feel it. I still felt the needle and that shit hurt.

I had another offer today for a free tattoo. For some reason, when I say that I really don’t think I can do it, this says to people that they should try harder to convince me. They want to be my tattoo spirit guide, and tell me the places it will hurt the most and at what point the vibrating needle becomes more of a nuisance than a pain.

People just seem to want to know if it’ll make me cry.

Him: You don’t want a tattoo?

Me: No. It’s not that at all. I know what I would get if I were to get a tattoo. I just can’t get one.

Something like this.

Something like this.

Him: WHY NOT?

Me: L.A. DOES NOT DO PAIN.

Him: But that’s the thing. Everything is going to hurt you.

Me: This isn’t helping your argument, Bob Marley.

Him: Tattoos are different. They mean something to you. 

Me: Not having needles poke me lots of times means something to me.

Him: But you choose this pain.

Me: BUT WHY ON EARTH WOULD I CHOOSE THE PAIN?!

And then we drew ourselves tattoos because I'm basically a 7th grade girl still.

And then we drew ourselves tattoos because I’m basically a 7th grade girl still.

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Artsy Fartsy Things, Carpe Diem and YOLO and stuff like that and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. awww.. you’re the cutest. but i have to agree with the guy. you choose the pain and that’s why it’s in a way not painful at all.😀

Leave a Reply

