No, but really.

I made a New Year’s Resolution this year that I was going to try and stop over-analyzing things. Granted, I made this resolution about a week into the New Year, after over-analyzing exactly what my New Year’s resolution should be and how much of an impact it would make on my day-to-day life and if I was even really going to keep my New Year’s Resolution, because duh.

It’s a New Year’s Resolution.

So, I made this resolution and basically a week later, was on the verge of breaking it. It started simply enough – kind of the way that an old school AIM conversation would, if I remember 2004 correctly.

You: Hey

Them: Hey

You: What’s up?

Them: N2M. U?

You: NM.

Them: Cool

Except instead of acronyms, we used proper spelling, and instead of the ding-a-ling IM sound, it was the generic Apple text sound that everyone checks their phone when they hear because #teamiPhone. So, really, it went something like this:

Me: How’s Mohawk?

Mohawk: Mohawk is fine.

Simple enough. It should be, at least. Simple question, simple answer, and we all move forward in our lives. Except for the fact that I had made a New Year’s Resolution, and Resolutions are apparently meant to be broken.

Are you fine?

 

One of the reasons I decided to try and give up on “over-analyzing” the shit out of everything is because I over-analyze the shit out of everything.

But I’m fine, guys, I swear.

There’s this assumption that comes with being a girl and being fine. Are you really fine, or are you, like, the completely fucked up not fine at all that is now associated with saying that you’re fine?

It’s to the point where I don’t even try and say that I’m fine — or even better, I disclaim my fineness to accentuate the fact that I’m seriously okay.

 

I’ve realized that hearing that someone is fine is really like going through the five stages of grief.

Stage One: Denial

Untitled

Stages Two and Three: Anger and Bargaining

Anger

Stage Four: Depression

Stage Five: Acceptance.

photo 2

I DIGRESS.

Seriously, what was this post about again? [Scrolls to top of post, re-reads…]

Right. Over-analyzing.

Resolutions: 1.

L.A.: 0.

I’m fine, guys. Really.

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on January 14, 2014, in Fix My Lighthouse, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. i am almost always not able to keep up with my new year’s resolutions but 2013 i did quite well.🙂
    i haven’t made any for 2014 though.

    but since i too over-analyze things i should probably be working on that too!😀

    aaaaaaaaaaaaand i loved this friends episode so so so much!

    • Haha, it is a pretty good episode! Quotable as always! I really just wanted the clip where Monica reads Rachel’s diary, because it sums up my relationship with Resolutions PERFECTLY.

  1. Pingback: Signed, sealed, delivered, WHAT THE BLEEP IS IN MY MAILBOX. | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

