No Scrubbing for Me

It is a surreal feeling to know that my mother at my age was already married, had her first child, and owned a home.

…I’m lucky if I make breakfast for myself in the morning.

Times have definitely changed, and people at my age are all over the place when it comes to the stages of their lives.

Fortunately, I can say that I’m not doing too badly for myself at 25. I love my career. I pay my own bills. And I don’t live with my parents.

I’m not as successful as I want to be, but I believe I’m on the right path to kicking life in the butt.

Our world is ever changing so it isn’t easy to start a life and find stability.

This fact has made dating a disaster for me.

I can best describe my dating life with songs from Destiny Child and TLC .

Since people at my age are over the place… compatibility is so hard to find.

Relationships can get stale when the couple isn’t at the same place in life.

I’m not trying to bash anyone, but it’s a stressful thought. I just want to date someone who I don’t have drive around because they don’t have a car. Or I don’t want to date someone who hasn’t finished college because they can’t figure out their degree.

To prove my headache… I recently had a no scrub moment in a bar.

A nice looking male kept smiling at me at the bar. He approached me to have a conversation. Everything was going smoothly until I asked him what he did for a living. He said he had lost his job and wasn’t sure what he wanted to do next.

REALLY?!?!?!?!?!

Like yes, we all fall on hard times and we can’t always control situations that happen to us. I shouldn’t judge, but what am I suppose to do with that?

Was he trying to play the guilt card into my heart?

Was he trying to be honest? Yes, someone shouldn’t be penalized for honesty.

But the entire factor just made everything all more difficult.

The situation wouldn’t have been so discouraging if he would have said,

“Yeah, I lost my job today, but I’m planning to go back to get my Master’s.” OR “I’m planning to open my own business. I would love to share with you my business proposal sometime.”

We might not have it all figured out like our parents did at our age, but we definitely can have a plan.

I’m not just talking goals/dreams in life. I’m talking about having plans to reach those achievements.

Good things don’t come without hard work.

I guess I will be planning out how to make my dating life better and more fulfilling .

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1798-1362439031-8_preview

About GoldDust

Gold Dust… IS: Not a Hotch…but is pretty awesome. an Arab-fanatic, but has only dated a Persian. A cock-pollution survivor. Poof’s puppy’s best friend. A tale-teller, an advice giver, and blondette to boot. too friendly to the homeless. LOVES: a lot of things, a boy from liggett, old lady clothes, velvet coats, red dresses, being on TV, holding microphones, berets, serpents, fuzzy ear muffs, stevie nicks, peacocks, beards and volvos, and hand warmers, oh, and cheerios. HATES: critters, clingers, people who can’t properly drive a stick shift, pre-mature ejaculation, half-Persians, quit dresses.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Carpe Diem and YOLO and stuff like that, We Think We're Funny, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ahhh I feel like I just watched a cosy episode of SATC🙂 hehe.

Leave a Reply

