Things that keep the world spinning

I don’t know if you remember, but a few months ago, I headed out to Vertigo in order to attempt the rebuilding of my precious vinyl collection.

It’s ridiculous how music builds up — you just have so much of it that you forget exactly who or what you have. Especially with iTunes nowadays – I tend to be that asshole that just puts my collection on shuffle and hit play. A certain song comes on and I’m all…

Holy fuckballs, I forgot I even had this song/album/artist.

I actually ventured out to an estate sale the other day, and was sucked into a box of old vinyls.

FOUND. A copy of The Who – Tommy, for 50 cents. Sold, and sold.

Everybody loves some Tommy.

Everybody loves some Tommy.

The woman who sold it to me started talking music with me. First it was the “you’re too young to listen to the Who,” then it was the “It’s so good that young people respect how music should be,” and it ended with “Why don’t you take this Beatles 45 of ‘Twist and Shout’ because you like the Beatles and we both know it’s too scratched to play anyway.”

I want to be this woman when I’m old. She told me about how when she got married, all she and her husband could afford was a reception in the church hall with a record player. When she and her husband danced their first dance to Elvis Presley’s “Can’t Help Falling in Love with You,” the record stopped working, and her husband sang to her for the rest of the song.

That’s fucking adorable.

But the best thing she said was this:

Think about all that music you had. Can you remember it all? No. Probably not. And it’s not about the record, or the CDs, or the way you kids have your music now. It’s about the music. It’s about the impact it had on you. And if you can think of any song that did that, that’s all you need.

Therefore, in no particular order, these are the albums that have made an impact on me.

1. The Beatles – Let it Be

Cover of "Let It Be (1990)"

Cover of Let It Be (1990)

The first Beatles record and CD that I ever owned, both purchased by my father. I came home one day singing a Catholic school redone version of Yellow Submarine, and he decided that I needed to know who the Beatles really were. Absolutely the reason that I fell in love with the Beatles from a young age.

2. Jack’s Mannequin – Everything in Transit

Cover of "Everything in Transit"

Cover of Everything in Transit

I worked at American Eagle for a fateful holiday season my freshman year of college and “The Mixed Tape” was on repeat on the store’s playlist. I have a recording of me trying to perform  “Dark Blue” on both piano and guitar. “MFEO” was my theme song for those self discovery confused years. And I still listen to “Bruised” everytime I get moody and have to lie on the floor listening to music.

3. James Taylor – Greatest Hits

Greatest Hits (James Taylor album)

Greatest Hits (James Taylor album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Back when CDs first came out, one of my parents bought James Taylor’s Greatest Hits, put it into our new car’s new CD player, and then basically just left it there for the next ten years or so. I’m originally from St. Louis, but when I was two, we moved to Michigan, and proceeded to drive, not fly to St. Louis for holidays and vacations. 8 hour drive each way, with the whole family singing Sweet Baby James.

Deep greens and blues are still the colors I choose.

4. Matt Nathanson – Beneath these Fireworks

Matt Nathanson ~ Beneath These Fireworks

202 and I stumbled upon Matt Nathanson thanks to one of those download programs that were so freaking popular in college. I’ve never loved a CD so much. In the front of every journal I kept since college, are the words “all moved up and all moved on.” Plus, he’s the artist that I’ve seen the most in concert and then there was that I time I sang with him. Matt Nathanson, you own part of me. Oh, and thanks again to Vertigo, for having all of his old CDs, which I bought for under $20 when I was 19.

5. Wicked

Wicked (musical)

Wicked (musical) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This musical. If you’ve seen it, you understand. If you haven’t, why the hell not?! Oh, and if you didn’t know. Everyone deserves a chance to fly.

So, what are some albums that you keep with you? Leave them in the comments. I always like hunting down new music –obviously any and all suggestions are welcome. Even Rod Stewart. Because for serious, I love that forever young song.

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Merriments, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. okay seriously, i love your taste in music. and i’m that asshole with my ipod too. all. the. time. everyone hates my ipod because, and i quote, i have no playlists or anything so even if i have good music there’s just too much to go through.

    the first three CDs that i bought myself were Songs About Jane (Maroon 5), Hot Fuss (The Killers), and Mmhmm (Relient K). i listened to them so many times that i sang be my escape in my sleep. my sister still makes fun of me for it. all three of them hold a special place in my heart. i also love the tallest man on earth’s shallow graves.

    • All solid CDs. I stand by the fact that Songs about Jane can’t be topped by Maroon 5. Best CD they’ll do.

      Funny story too, I’m actually going to see RK in about a month, lol.

  2. Definitely true about Maroon 5. And I’m really jealous you get to see RK! Make sure you blog about it.

  3. Hehee I love that “OMG THAT ONE” feeling! Revisiting old loves brings my mood up in NO time! 😀 I couldn’t even say what my favorites are.. there’s just so much of it. D: I use spotify these days as well so now I just REALLY stack everything up.

    • I love and hate spotify — I think it’s the same boat of how people hate that I just shuffle my music. But it’s brought me some great music that I really love — so I mostly love it.

      Wow, that was an argument with myself.

  1. Pingback: Only when the refrigerator is mad at me. | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

