Sorry, I’m not sorry

I’ve been told that I apologize way too much for things that don’t need to be apologized for.

Example:

“I’m sorry I was early to work ”

“I’m sorry I bought beer for the entire office. I hope that’s okay.”

I think it stems from working in the restaurant industry. I was constantly trying to make someone happy and pleased so I apologized even though everything could be perfectly fine.

Recently, I’ve been in a situation where I was definitely apologizing for things I know I should not have been apologetic for.

To reverse this, I will not apologize for several things that I was made to feel like I should.

So what am I not sorry for?

I’m not sorry if I want/need something I go out and get it for myself. I don’t wait for it to magically land on my door step or for someone else to get for me.

I’m not sorry that I have a brand new car in my drive-way. It’s represents how hard I’ve worked to make my life better.

I’m not sorry that I know when to swallow my pride.

I’m not sorry that I have a job that I absolutely love.

I’m not sorry that I will do everything in my power to make situations better, and not just wish for it to happen.

I’m not sorry that I do know how to balance work and play. And sometimes, work trumps play.

I’m not sorry that I take responsibility for my actions. I don’t attempt to rationalize why it’s okay to hurt others or cut corners.

I’m not sorry that I want to see the good in people, but it doesn’t mean that it’s okay for them to take advantage of my kindness.

I’m not sorry for having a big beautiful heart that deserves to be respected.

k-bigpic

About GoldDust

Gold Dust… IS: Not a Hotch…but is pretty awesome. an Arab-fanatic, but has only dated a Persian. A cock-pollution survivor. Poof’s puppy’s best friend. A tale-teller, an advice giver, and blondette to boot. too friendly to the homeless. LOVES: a lot of things, a boy from liggett, old lady clothes, velvet coats, red dresses, being on TV, holding microphones, berets, serpents, fuzzy ear muffs, stevie nicks, peacocks, beards and volvos, and hand warmers, oh, and cheerios. HATES: critters, clingers, people who can’t properly drive a stick shift, pre-mature ejaculation, half-Persians, quit dresses.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Carpe Diem and YOLO and stuff like that, Fix My Lighthouse, PSA, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. SHAME ON YOU FOR BEING EARLY! 😮

Leave a Reply

