Run, L.A., Run! (Possibly walk at a brisk pace, L.A., walk at a brisk pace!)

*Update at the bottom*

The other day, I was over at CoSi and BoBo’s house for our I want it to be a weekly tradition type thing game night. It was a bunch of people catching up from high school, including, but not limited to, the afore mentioned Cosi and Bobo, FunSized, Arrington (and significant other), and HSM.

I don’t know what “high school reunion” means to you, but to me, it means that game night turns pretty quickly to high school story telling random conversation of everything we haven’t talked about in the past x amount of months catch up time.

train of thought

So, we’re the midst of the whole catching up, and somehow, the topic of Arrington and his constant running comes up. He ran like…track, and cross country, and those other running things…the ones where you run just to run.

Basically, this is how I see our trains of thought regarding the "fun" and "usefulness" of running.

Basically, this is how I see our trains of thought regarding the “fun” and “usefulness” of running.

Arrington is telling us about the next marathon he’s going to be running in, since he runs them all the time, since he’s capable, and doesn’t weeze and die while running like I do.

That’s when I’m thrown for a loop. “I’m going to run a 5k!” FunSized announces. “I’m training for it.”

“You should totally do it!” Arrington tells her.

“What’s that one that everyone is doing?” I ask. “The Color run?” I think to the pictures of people doused in various colors while running. Besides the running, it looks pretty exciting. “I added that to my bucket list.”

“That looks fun!” FunSized says. “Let’s do it!”

“Let’s all do it!” CoSi says.

“We can do the one in Lansing!” Arrington says. “We can even tail gate too, and cross two things off your bucket list”

It sounds exciting and fun and all sorts of friends that I love more than life itself, but it isn’t until later that I start to think more about it.

Conversations w Dad

I’m not a good runner. I remember being in high school, having to run three miles, and being completely winded.

Random conversation from a high school run.

Teammate: So, Boyfriend got me flowers to apologize for being a jerk.

Me: *Silence*

Teammate: I know you don’t like him.

Me: *Silence*

Teammate: L.A.! Seriously?!

Me: *wheeze* Yeah, flowers. *(inner monologue) if I say more words, I won’t be able to hate anyone because I’ll be lying dead on the street in downtown Grand Rapids.*

I ended up talking to VS about this running thing later, because while I did soccer in high school, she did track. She runs. She knows what’s up. Both with the running, and with me being a terrible runner.

Chat with Jade

So, VS sent me this link called like “Running for Dumbasses,” and I downloaded an app on the recommendation of FunSized which allows to walk (live) and run (die) in increments of pain and anguish. And hopefully between the two of those, I’ll manage to make it successfully through a 5k.

Have you ever done one of these marathon things? What do you do to prepare? Slash, how do you feel about following me with a rickshaw for when I get tired??

Tweet me or comment with any advice or words of encouragement. After all, if I die, whose blog will you read??

A big fat thank you and snuggle to everyone who’s been encouraging about this whole running thing. I downloaded that App (Couch to 5k, for those who has asked) at FunSized’s suggestion, and have learned that 60 seconds is really, really, really long when you’re running and that 90 seconds is incredibly short when you know you have to run some more at the end of it. But the whole point, I suppose, is that I’m running? Right?

Let me know if you’re signing up for the color run — I want to know what other people are doing for this training thing. Also, I saw pictures of people running in tutus. I’d like a tutu. Or a crown. Or a horse drawn carriage. Whichever.

Let's get colorful.

Let’s get colorful.

*Update*

I’m not doing everyday with the running. But I’m doing more.  Last week Sunday:

And then again this Sunday: 3.09 miles. It hurts so good.*

*Not really. It hurts so bad. But I’m sure it’ll be great when I’m all multi-colored**.

**I’m still lying. I’m still think I might die a multi-colored death.

Related articles
About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on February 23, 2013, in Bucket List, Carpe Diem and YOLO and stuff like that, DeLorean DMC-12, Sporty type things that aren't hockey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. You can totally do a 5k!!!!! just take your time and stick to the training schedule. I tried a half and only made it about 9k before my knees and calves gave out on me cause I hadnt trained.

  2. I want to start running again. So far my excuses are

    1: It is still cold outside
    2: A neighbor just got arrested for selling cocaine…so it’s a safety issue really.

  3. Hey! I signed up for the ypsi color run and then was also freaking out the next day when I remembered I don’t know how to run… But since then, I’ve heard some great rumors about this race, like how it isn’t timed at all, and how there’s usually backups at the color stations (aka times when you’re basically forced to rest!) and some blogs even claim these races tend to be short of the full 3.whatever miles!

    I think it’s basically the best 5k imaginable for the non-runner. Good luck with training, I know the time change and warmer weather will make that easier!

    • Thanks! Since I’ve been running more, I feel better and better about this 5k. Plus I’ve got some awesome friends who I know are going to drag/encourage me through the whole thing.

      Except Arrington (the runner). He’ll probably just be chilling at the finish line with a beer since he’ll finish before I even run a half mile or half k or whatever. 🙂

  1. Pingback: the [snowboarding] Sunday, currently. | Chicks In The Mitt

  2. Pingback: Jack and Jill went up the hill and then slid down it on the other side on a board and were given a gold medal for their efforts. | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

