Here’s to you, here’s to me, friends forever we shall be.

This post was actually written a number of months ago. Shit happened. I didn’t post it. Time passed. I now feel better about posting it. Thanks, life. You’re awesome. You too, twitter. You’re awesome too.

I’m amazed at the fact that it’s hangover Saturday, I’m having trouble keeping down orange juice, I cried in my car last night, and I’m blogging.

Yeah. I’m a trooper.

Last night, Alto came over and we headed downtown for the opening night of the Griffins. Thank goodness for the AHL gods keeping their hockey going even if the NHL can’t figure things out. One of my friends, Photog, was down there too, for other reasons than mine (those namely being yelling, watching hockey, and ingesting dollar beers).

We met up during the game, and made plans to meet up afterwards. We figured Gardella’s. He wasn’t a fan (probably just has never had a one legged lesbian), so right after the game, Alto and I headed there to get some food and drink before he met up.

Cue the obligatory bathroom shots.

After awhile of being there, I found out he was at a different bar, and we abandoned a giant tray of cheese fries to meet up.

He was at another bar with some of his friends when we met him.

“So,” asks Friend One. “How do you guys know each other?” He mentions to me and Photog.

Cue awkward glance. Cue L.A.’s awkward words.

“Well,” I head into a mangled explanation of words and phrases involving following various people on twitter which eventually had me following Photog, then DMing when we randomly both ended up at a graduation where I was watching LittleBro graduate and Photog was graduating.

How Photog and L.A. became friends.

Hashtag: Random.

“Oh,” says Friend One. “So you’re friends with [twitter person]?”

“Friends…twitter friends…” I’m drunk by now. I think I said something to that extent. I must sound like a chatch.

A shot comes and Friend Two asks what we should toast to.

“To Twitter!” proclaims Friend One.

Cue to the next morning.

For some reason, I can’t get the twitter talk out of my head. I mean, five years ago, how was I making friends?

We “officially” met when BabyDaddy told me he was taking me out to a movie and had neglected to tell me that he had also asked Mystique. He had told her the same thing, in reverse. AWK.COM.

Granted, five years ago, things were still random, but everything connected through people. It’s five years later, and I’m basically making friends completely through technology.

Thus, I posted to the twitter.

There are a number of people on twitter I probably have more regular contact with than some of my real life friends. Weird. I honestly wonder about the divide between where someone is your friend specifically through social networks — to where someone is your friend that beyond that — hanging out, actually seeing each other, sharing a drink, etc.

Especially with my consternation in place, the response was a little ridiculous. It seems like everyone has managed to connect with a friend who made the transition from twitter friend to real life friend.

It’s funny if you think about it then, that twitter seems to create new friendships, while facebook seems to weaken existing ones. Ever heard of the defriend button, after all? If you’ve ever been defriended or done the defriending, do you still at all consider that person to be a friend? Or once the internet disconnects you, do you try to keep the connection in real life?

Twitter seems to do just the opposite and constantly be creating those connections, which…according to everyone, could eventually lead to real life friendship.

Take Photog, for example. His tweets might not be as amusing as mine (He’s admitted that), but we did end up connecting through twitter. And meeting. And becoming friends.

Back to last night…

“What should we toast to?” asks Friend Two.

“To Twitter!” says Friend One.

…well. Alright.

To twitter!

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on January 5, 2013, in The Good Ol' Hockey Game, Twatterpants and other social networks, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Ahh good nights! We need to do hockey again! Also, this got deep. And I would not use my twitter at all if it weren’t for you.

    • DEFINITELY more hockey. You know I am always up for that. And I’m glad you’re getting into the twitter more…even if it is just because I’m on there 😉

  2. Since I’m still new to Twitter I haven’t formed a lot of friendships along the lines of uber-contact or anything along those lines…but blogging…well that’s another story. Chat, real emails, texts, phone calls; there are definitely people I would call real friends even though we’ve never met in person…yet.

    • The funny thing is — I only started using my twitter actively because I started blogging! The rest came after that.

      I would 10000% agree with the blogging friends though – there are some ridiculously awesome people I’ve met because of blogging.

  3. Sometimes Twitter friends become your boyfriends.

  4. Love your stick figures! And you are my favorite twitter friend! 🙂

  5. Yes. To Twitter. Love you muchly, girl. You’re definitely up there on my list of favorite crazies. ❤

  6. dude I tried to explain you to Manfriend and I was all “Shes a twitter friend!” and he sort of looked at me like “You’re sure she doesn’t want to make you a skin suit”.
    I assured him that should you turn out to me a murderer, you likely would pick on someone much cooler than me.

  7. OKAY, so when we have our great transcontinental meet up, even though it’s just countries, not continents, this is what we should do:

    I’ll borrow Poof’s D&G purse that 1000% feels like people. And I’ll show up at your door and like give him it and be like…that’s my last twitter friend.

    AND THEN WE CAN ALL LAUGH, except Manfriend who will hate me forever. Or think it’s funny, because I’m really very harmless. I don’t even carry mace. Although I probably should, since I’m a single female, and apparently all other people are predators.

  1. Pingback: Just Friends..! | A Shade Of Pen

  2. Pingback: When in doubt, write more. Or bitch more, in which case, someone will tell you to write. | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

