It’s T-Shirt Time [again]!

You may remember a little while ago, when I taught ya’ll how to make that fringe-y masterpiece? Well, if you follow me on instagram…

(@LA_thegirl, btw)

…then there is a solid chance you remember me posting another few t-shirts that  I swore I would do tutorials, that I never got around to doing. Well, there was one shirt in particular that seemed to garner an excessive amount of attention.

The popular t-shirt from the last artsy round of fun.

And as much as I wanted to post how to make this guy, I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t like the end result, as fun as it looks, so I didn’t wanna teach everyone how to make something that could potentially suck. So here we are, trying again.

1. Cut up your t-shirt.

This involves really cutting the shirt into whatever shape you plan on wearing it — keeping it a t-shirt, making it a tank top. I always recommend cutting off thick hems that are hard to cut through or work with. Plus it gives you more variety when it comes to the neckline especially.

I took off the neck and then v’d the back. Sorry that I made it black.

2. Details, details.

I did the same detailing that I originally used on the back of the yellow shirt. It’s actually really easy to do.

This is kinda the pattern I follow. But straighter lines. And the same length. Don’t use scissors if you’re drunk.

3. Weave and other things.

This is where it gets hard to explain. The cuts you’ve made make strips of cloth that you’re going to weave within each other. Get it? No? That’s okay, me neither.

Pull the inner strip of cloth AROUND the end strip. It makes a loop hole. Then, you pull the NEXT strip through that loophole you made.

You keep following the loophole pattern until you reach your last strip. I actually combined the two sides — which basically means I pulled one strip of cloth through two loopholes.

4. Tie it off.

This is pretty simple. When you reach the last strip, you pull it through the INSIDE of the shirt and tie it with the loops before.

You can [sort of] see where the last loophole will tie. This is the inside of the shirt.

Voila. This may have been easy to understand. If not (sorry for the black shirt again) then you can always e-mail me at la.thegirl6@gmail.com and I’d be more than willing to make you a shirt for a decent price.

Voila.

If you check out the picture of the yellow shirt, you can see the detailing better. But that’s basically how it turns out. Ta-da, and other words!

 

 

 

 

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Artsy Fartsy Things, Twatterpants and other social networks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

