It’s T-SHIRT time.

I know you won’t admit it, but you’ve probably seen the big muscles/small brains of Jersey Shore walking around chanting about how It’s T-Shirt Time!

Well, it is t-shirt time. Only I’ve made my own t-shirts, and did not record myself getting dressed. You’re welcome.

Last weekend, I headed out with Alto to this Bottom40 event that happens every couple months in Grand Rapids. I’ve gone twice, and it’s tremendous fun. Namely because the events are themed, and I love themes.

So, with the help of GoldDust via iMessage, I dressed up in my best impression of Yo! MTV Raps, which ended up being a fly girl copy from In Living Color.

I do not dress like this on a regular basis. Shirt: G by Guess. Shorts: Forever 21. Tights: Betsey Johnson. Shoes: my mom in the 90’s.

Despite the fact that I hate my stomach, the outfit went over well, and I actually got lots of compliments on my shirt. The shirt is G by Guess, and I love it, and I’m glad I bought it, but let’s face facts. Normally, I would not pay $29.50 for a shirt that doesn’t even hide areas of my body that I hate. So, in true L.A. does craft time fashion, GoldDust and I packed up the equinox and headed for the craft store!

Step One: Supplies

Fun colors make any design you do pop a little more.

We went to JoAnn’s Fabric, but really any craft store will have basic plain t-shirts for cheap.

You want to buy one that is baggy on you. Try them on in the store. It’ll give you a feel of how much extra fabric you’ll have to work with. I went with an adult male small. I cannot stress enough–if you are recreating a shirt to fit you better, do not buy a fitted shirt. You will be making it to fit — don’t buy it that way!

Cost: $10 for 4 t-shirts

We also bought some Singer scissors. This fabric isn’t difficult to cut, but if you’ve got crappy scissors, you’re going to be wasting more time and energy.

And you’ll get pissed off, possibly throw scissors, cut someone you love, and go to jail.

Get some good scissors.

Cost: $7.99 for 3 scissors.

Step Two: Chop, chop.

There’s a good chance you won’t use any of the finished edges on the shirt, so I always cut those off first the edges of the sleeves and the bottom hem. Those are thicker and harder to cut through, so it’s best to just dispose of them. Then, if you haven’t really don’t this before, it helps to turn the shirt inside out and trace out the outline that you want for your neckline and back. The outline I did just sheered off the sleeves entirely and gave the back a razorback. 

Remember when you trace a design on to make it a little bigger than you want, because you might have to cut off the lines you draw.

Step Three: Designs and Embellishments

I wanted that fringe look, so I cut about five inches in length, an inch apart. The strands will get longer as you pull as them, so it’s best to cut them shorter than you want. After that, I knotted each strand right up next to the body of the t-shirt. If you’re doing knots, make sure you tie them the same way every time. That’ll give it a more uniform look and won’t look as messy.

Up close and personal with fringing.

Step Four: Try it on.

The best way to have it fit the way you want is to try it on. Figure out any spots you have to edit. I decided I wanted mine to have a tighter neckline, so I ended up tying a few more knots to make it fit me better.

Voila!

My finished product was made for approximately $6 bucks, once you divide the cost among the four shirts I made altogether. A lot better than $29.50, huh? Once again, feel free to follow me and chat me up on Twitter if you’re interested in me making one for you — @LA_thegirl.

And next time on t-shirt time…GoldDust and I rock out our own version of the skull tees.

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Artsy Fartsy Things, Twatterpants and other social networks, Walk, Walk, Fashion Baby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

