I like it best in small, dark places.

The very first concert I went to was in the 7th grade. It was K-Ci and Jojo, and we were young, and thus poor, and thus were sitting on the upper level–far, far away from them.

Lyrics for your hit song? More like LIES. WE WERE NOT CLOSE TO YOU AT ALL, ASSHOLES.

A typical conversation during this concert:

“Who’s the guy in the red pants?”

“I think it’s Jojo?”

“What’s Jojo look like?”

“I don’t know, the guy in the red pants?!”

“Maybe that’s K-Ci!”

“Are those REALLY their names?”

Needless to say, it wasn’t the best concert experience. But it was a learning experience. And I thus spent the next few years polishing my concert going skills.

I dropped a chunk of money to go to a Blink-182 concert in 9th grade, only to find out that when you’re small and near the big group of moshers, people try to lift you up and crowd surf you. You know who is afraid of crowd surfing? 9th grader L.A. and her baby blue Old Navy tech vest.

I found a niche in Christian rock in 10th and 11th grade. Everyone was religious and nice and the artists would autograph things and we’d all hold hands and sing. It was fun, for awhile, until the groups that I liked went mainstream and their ticket prices went up.

And then, one fateful day, after years of going to concerts, I saw a sign at a local music store. It was for a free acoustic set, and an autograph signing, and best of all, even though they did not advertise this on the sign, this happened:

L.A. sings with Matt Nathanson. Heart attacks ensue.

Clearly, this moment was the most awesome thing that I still remember even though I freaked out and suffered from a stroke of musical proportions. I mean, come on people. Matt Nathanson asked if he could hold my baby.

There would eventually be a conversation about this photo. Boo: “Mommy, who’s holding me?” Me: “Matt Nathanson.” Boo: “Matt Nathanson’s my Daddy?”

Since this sort of-concert-but mostly bonding with Matt Nathanson-acoustic set, I’ve seen Matt play three more times. Two of these were bigger concerts, where I bought t-shirts proclaiming my singularity and tweeted about their awesomeness to Mike Commodore, or rocked out to Jack’s Mannequin too.

Yesterday’s was a random stumble of a musical event. Derby caught me off guard with a tweet that she was going to go see Matt Nathanson. GoldDust and I decided at the last minute to head out there, and just hope that we made it in time. Did we? Sort of. Matt was performing in a bar in Royal Oak. It was a small place, clearly a random blip in his touring life, and the place was packed to the point that GoldDust and I were sitting on a window ledge to listen.

Is this a bad thing? Possibly. But I like Matt enough that I was okay with it. We were out of the heat and sweat of the indoors, we were still ridiculously close to what was happening, and I didn’t have to go all spaghetti arms like Johnny in Dirty Dancing to assert my personal space.

Honestly, I’ve realized that I like concerts better this way. I’ve been to so many small events where I walk out feeling like I got to pay more attention to the event that I would have if I’d paid $50 bucks to be rubbed up against by over eager females that yell and jump like cheerleaders high on music.

The last concert I went to was still good, but let’s think about this:

  • Beer was spilled on me.
  • People shoved.
  •  A girl in front of me had to lean back to yell that she loved the music. I kept gently pushing her forward, lest she tip over. She yelled at me.

Sure, this acoustic set was shorter than a regular concert would have been. But it was free. He still played for an hour, got more involved with the crowd, sounded great.

WHERE IS THE LOSS IN THIS?

There isn’t one. I’d take a coffee shop over an arena concert any day. What do you think, readers?

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on June 19, 2012, in Merriments, Twatterpants and other social networks, Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Are you now traumatized from your early crowd surfing experience? LOL!

    • Hey, it’s TERRIFYING when a drunk 20 something person sees you, tries to pick you up, and yells, “HERE’S A LITTLE ONE, LET’S DO THIS!”

      • HAHAHAHA! Next time Im in a mosh pit, I will look for the little one and yell LETS DO THIS!

        Im glad you survived your ordeal though. 🙂

      • Haha, I’m glad I survived too. I hope you don’t really do this to a small person. TRAUMATIC LIFE EXPERIENCES.

  2. First off, that video and “duet” is awesome. See people…celebrities are people too!

    I completely agree though, I completely enjoy smaller venue shows more than the big 1,000,000 seat shows.

    To date one of my favorite shows was a performance by Nellie McKay at the Roxy in LA. It had the feeling of a blues/jazz lounge where Nellie spent probably 5 minutes in-between each song to banter with the audience.

    • That’s EXACTLY the kind of thing that I’m talking about. I love being able to sit down and not be frowned at while listening to live music.

      Also. Thank you. That moment is easily top ten of life.

  3. Hello, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s truly fine, keep up writing.

  1. Pingback: Things that keep the world spinning | Chicks In The Mitt

  2. Pingback: Flashback Monday has no alliteration and is not a catchy title at all. | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

