Pope John Paul II must be so upset with me.

Earlier today at Poof’s:

“Poof,” I ask. “You’re Catholic. And Polish.  Can you spell paczki.”

Poof ponders this for a moment. “P…a…zc…cz…ki? No. I can’t.”

Captain comes out.

“Spell paczki.” Poof orders him.

“What’s that?” He asks. “P…U…N…C…?”

Here’s a small fact about L.A.: Catholic school girl.

Seriously. When I say Catholic school girl, I mean LIFE LONG Catholic school girl. Since age 5, I have been enrolled in the Catholic schools systems. Grade school, high school, even some college. All Catholic. And yes, I was taught by nuns.

What does this have to do with anything? Well, non-Catholics, this means that during school hours, I was allowed to celebrate Fat Tuesday. We would get our Mardi Gras on by eating piles and piles of…

POONCH-KEYS

Now, when you’re in a Catholic school, lots of times on Fat Tuesday, we’d do little Catholic activities…like learning to spell PACZKI (See Poof and Captain’s attempts above). So since I was young, I’ve been able to spell this word. Seriously. I got extra credit in 3rd grade for spelling it right. Spelling? CHECK PLUS.

And because of all this, today was especially embarrassing.

While driving to Poof’s for coffee and merriment, I was reading twitter. She lives far away from me, people. And really, like you don’t tweet and drive. There were tons of tweets about #FatTuesday and #MardiGras and #ShroveTuesday and the like.

And there were lots of people tweeting about the paczkis. And they were all spelling it incorrectly. So, like the little grammar gremlin I am, this is what I did…

@LA_thegirl: If you can’t spell paczki, I’m unfollowing you. #fattuesday (the original tweet was removed due to embarrassment)

Anyway. I get to Poof’s and I’ve received a reply from JukeBox.

Please note that you can see the original embarrassing twat.

I don’t really read it over, just notice that he is saying I spelled paczki wrong. Which is impossible. Me spell pazcki wrong? That’s unpossibleSo, the smart ass that I am, I immediately do a search for an image of paczki to prove that I am correct and that he can go douche-tickle himself.

POONCH-KEY

Haha, I think to myself. I’ve got you now, you music lyric-loving-twatterpants! WHAT NOW?!

By this point, I’ve sat down in Poof’s kitchen and questioned her and Captain’s spelling capabilities.

“Look,” I tell Poof. “JukeBox doesn’t think I can spell paczki. What a douchecanoe.” I open up twitter and scroll through to show her the tweet.

Oh no. I read my first tweet. Oh, the humanity.

THE AWKWARD.

Although, on the positive side, I did tweet maybe 30 seconds after my angry at bad spellers with incorrect spelling tweet. And I spelled paczki correct. I TOLD YOU I COULD SPELL IT. I do wish I had spelled it correctly in the angry twat, rather than the “GIVE ME PACZKIS OR GIVE ME DEATH” tweet.

PROOF I can spell this word. I wish there were more of a time stamp to prove my point.

You know what we’ve learned, readers? Polish people spell things funny. Also, there are reasons that they tell you NOT to text and drive*. It’s to avoid embarrassing moments such as these. Hope you had a fabulous Fat Tuesday.

You win this time, JukeBox. Game On.

*I don’t really condone texting and driving. Be safe, people.

About L.A.

Mom Life/Engaged Life/Blog Life/Love Life

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Words and Phrases and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I also had much catholic upbringing. Grade school and high school, public university (eyes wide open now). However I dont remember EVER eating them in grade school or High school or even at home and I have Polish on my fathers side. I have eaten them and I try to get at least one on fat tuesday but alas this year I had none! 😦

    As if I didnt suck already at spelling (and typing), I know I cant spell Paczkis without looking it up first.

    Here is the question at hand though, what is the difference between a Paczki and a jelly doughnut?

    Also bonus points for Ralph reference!

    • Bonus points for catching the reference! And I can’t believe they never gave you paczkis in a Catholic school. There should be rules about that. Ashes on your forehead tomorrow? You get a paczki!

      • We got the ashes, but no paczki. 😦

        Love me some Simpsons.

      • Idk when I will get my ashes today! I feel so bad!

        And I love the Simpsons. I haven’t watched it in years. It’s bizarre that it’s still on.

      • When I was first dating my now-husband I made him go to Ash Wednesday mass with me. He got so annoyed with the sit, stand, sit, kneel, stand, sit, stand thing. And how we had all the creeds memorized. Those non-denom people can’t hang.

      • I’m not really surprised by this, haha. But for real, Poof. Did you get ashes?

  2. whatever those are .. they look yummy as hell. now I want some.

  3. yummmm! I had two yesterday. shh don’t tell (:

  4. I’ve heard from many people that catholic school girls are all pretty wild…and you don’t seem to be breaking that stereotype.😛

  5. Instead of paczkis on fat Tuesday, I had booze. Lots of it! Mardi grass!!

  6. i guess that’s what you get for being a smart-arse! ;-p

  7. I love all of this. I wish that I was in Michigan enjoying Fat Tuesday treats! I miss you!

  1. Pingback: You got a little schmootz right there, and other things I’ll probably hear today | Chicks In The Mitt

Leave a Reply

