Flashback Monday has no alliteration and is not a catchy title at all.

I found myself thinking back to my freshman year of college, when I coined the…

laying on the floor thinking about stuff

…playlists that I still make today.

If you’ve been there, then you know – dorm rooms weren’t very big. My roommate 202 and I did ended up doing the laying down listening to music thing all the time. The songs I listened to back then are like therapy. Play me some Something Corporate and I’m right back there in my dorm room with the smell of burnt popcorn from down the hall and the sound of various friends yelling up at our window, because we were right above the door to the lobby.

In tiny little picture version, this is where I spent an excessive amount of 2005 and 2006.

In tiny little picture version, this is where I spent an excessive amount of 2005 and 2006.

So, I started making a list of those songs. The ones that pretty much summed up that year of life, because for some reason, that’s one of those really vivid years in my memory. I even went back and looked at an old journal and found out that Yes, these songs are those memories, and if you’re ever trying to time travel ala Christopher Reeves, this is what you should listen to.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps1B0QCqjhQ

I didn’t even realize how much the songs resonated in my memory until I re-read various portions of Hook Ups, Let Downs, and the other Nine Inches.

Like…

Dean started hanging out in my room a lot more. After dinner, when Nicole went off to rehearsal, he’d come over, eating my food and sneaking in beer. He and I had what I considered a real college friendship. We’d bash W . and contemplate how the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s had saved us from teenage angst.

And…

I lay down on the floor of the dorm room. I had the Yeah Yeah Yeahs playing on repeat, Karen O wailing over and over.

They don’t love you like I love you…” I whispered along, not able to move, or not wanting to.

Yeah. Karen O was pretty much my best friend in 2005.

The Time Traveling List of Songs that L.A. overplayed in 2005

  1. Jack’s Mannequin – The Mixed Tape
  2. Jack’s Mannequin – Bruised
  3. Matt Nathanson – Angel
  4. Matt Nathanson – I Saw
  5. Something Corporate – Walking By
  6. Something Corporate – Punk Rock Princess
  7. Death Cab for Cutie – Photobooth
  8. Lifehouse – You & Me
  9. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Modern Romance/Poor Song
  10. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps

Do you have any memories that are triggered by music? Any songs that just resonate a time or a place or a person for you?

About L.A.

IS: 26, a mom, in love with family and friends, energetic, a writer, a music lover/performer, a hockey girl, a soccer player, a Hotch. LOVES: LeBebe, music, family, thunderstorms, friends, Red Wings hockey, writing, the beach, bicycling, high metabolisms, soccer, cheesecake. IS NOT: lazy, a morning person, high maintenance, introverted, perfect. HATES: cheaters, mornings before 9 am, being lied to, losing, high humidity, make up, fast food.

Posted on February 17, 2014, in DeLorean DMC-12 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. gosh, i think i have a song for every situation in my life like i can relate every situation of my life to a friends episode. :-D

  2. seeing as how half of the songs on that list are some of my all-time favorites and the other half are some of my wow-never-heard-that-song before, i feel like i should start downloading. or at the very least youtubing.

    also, how’s the book coming along? the first time i started reading you was when you were posting that book as a blog (and then suddenly stopped, leaving me sad and hanging off a cliff). i remember you mentioning on here that you were going to edit and send it out. did you ever do that? you should because it is awesome. if you’d like, i can write a letter to send out with your queries that says, “you should publish this book because it is totally awesome and also because i would really love to read it. signed, a voracious reader.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

